• Peter Bateman
    In the current edition of Safeguard magazine Craig Marriott suggests every H&S team needs a coherent strategy.

In your experience, which is harder: finding the time to think strategically amid the day-to-day rush, or convincing others that your strategy is worth pursuing?

You can respond in public here on the Forum, or privately here via a Survey Monkey form.

An edited selection of responses will be published in the Nov/Dec edition, but with no names attached. One randomly selected person will receive a prize, namely a copy of the recently revised and reissued edition of Andrea Needham's classic book on workplace bullying.
  • Michael Wilson
    Having recently undertaken this the hardest part was deciding which things you will push out for a year or two. Health & Safety people are problem solvers and hate postponing actions.
  • Lee Keighley
    I believe both are difficult. Convincing senior management that a health strategy is worth pursuing is my major issue at present. I've introduced a idea about men's health as Movember is fast approaching and thought this would be a good opportunity to promote a health strategy. Why was a major question closely followed by where to start.
  • Matt Sadgrove
    I think finding the time to think strategically is essential and part of a solution to get out of the reactionary cycle. A strategy is absolutely part of your WHY and needs to be a separate focus before the business folds it in as just park of what work is. It is hard but the juice is worth the squeeze!
  • Rob McAulay
    I agree with the opinions expressed so far and would add that if H&S is not be left as an "add on" we need to have a H&S Strategy that looks at how H&S contributes to the wider goals of the organization, from this strategy a number of strategic H&S objectives can be developed and these in turn will inform the H&S Goals required for the annual H&S Plan which becomes the work plan of the H&S "Team".