• Riki Brown
    If this has been discussed in previous threads, or if there is a good online resource, please point me in the right direction (i searched but didn't find).

I'm new to this game so forgive my ignorance

What are the legal liabilities of a heath and safety professional in New Zealand?

e.g. If I was a health and safety professional contracted (or employed I guess) to advise, consult, review, create documents, create procedures for a company and the company was to have a fatality at work. Could I be prosecuted? If so through what channels?

Are there any cases I should read?

Thanks

Riki
  • Peter Bateman
    I can't recall a New Zealand H&S practitioner being charged by WorkSafe, though it certainly could happen.
    However here's an example from the UK last year where a consultant was fined a modest amount for giving poor advice.
  • KeithH
    Hey Riki
    All things are possible.

Here in NZ there do not appear to be any legal precidents regarding the legal liabilities of H&S Professions. The nearest I can find is one in the UK - there may be others - https://www.shponline.co.uk/safety-management/director-safety-consultant-jailed-labourers-death/#:~:text=after%20labourer%27s%20death-,Lauren%20Applebey,excavation%20in%20Ellerby%20Street%2C%20Fulham.

Section 7 of the UK HSWA 1974 appears to equate to Section 45 of New Zealand's HSWA.

Courts may look at whether a H&S Professional has 'significant influence' over the activity. That may relate to the position within a business as well as responsibility.
    NZ often looks to Australia and the UK for case law.

Others may know more - Chris Peace is a valuable resource.
  • Steve H
    Here in NZ there do not appear to be any legal precidents regarding the legal liabilities of H&S Professions. The nearest I can find is one in the UK - there may be others - safety-management/director-safety-consultant-jailed-labourers-death.KeithH