• Peter Bateman
    In the Nov/Dec edition of Safeguard magazine we pose three questions based on stories in the magazine. One of them is this:

The Court found Whakaari Management Ltd exercised "management or control" over the island, even though, unlike the tour operators it licensed, it did nothing itself on the island.
    Do you agree? Why, or why not?

Feel free to respond here on the Forum, or privately here via a Survey Monkey form.

An edited selection of responses will be published in the Jan/Feb edition, but with no names attached. One randomly selected person will receive a prize, namely a copy of the book There Are No Accidents, by Jessie Singer.
  • Chris Peace
    I won't comment at this stage as I was an expert witness in the case and so have "inside knowledge". I will comment after Christmas or Peter can ask me for a comment.
  • Mitchell Horan
    Based on the statement within the direct quotation marks, it's hard to discredit the courts ruling. The company name is quite literally branding themselves as holding overarching management of Whakaari.
  • Aaron Marshall
    Not sure I agree. Given that GNS were a defendant in the case too, who would they have gone to as a SME for advice?
    They didn't prevent any of the operators from installing safety gear, etc.

As a result we are now seeing customers overstepping the mark when it comes to safety requirements, because they don't fully understand the risks and think they are erring on the side of caution.
  • R Ellis
    A business can't be all income with total disregard to how that money is made - that leads to all kinds of depraved, corrupt and unethical outcomes. Hence the international growth and demand for ESG, and concern around a "social license" to operate, and what that entails without a right to sue.

Just on a superficial understanding formed from media reporting I agree, based on the following:
    - they make income from an activity,
    - can restrict access to the site,