• Glenn Taylor
    Here's a really simple idea to help with traffic/pedestrian control (no I'm not a salesperson for this product). Sometimes a really simple idea can make a huge difference. Its a UK product but what's to stop us here having or doing it ? What's anyone's thoughts. Link: https://pksafetyuk.com/about-stopngo?utm_source=FILTER_IOSH%20Newsletter%20signups&utm_medium=email&utm_content=LEARN+MORE+HERE&utm_campaign=PKSafety+Bespoke+01+May+2019+IOSH
  • Karl Bridges
    As a human factors engineer I have a few comments:
    First of all great idea - certainly has the opportunity to add another layer of safety into this safety critical task.

Advertisement - the video showed the spotter waving his arms and shouting to stop the accidents happening to no avail. How is a coloured glove going to make any difference.

Proliferation - often new technology is challenged by the concern associated with proliferation. Take self driving cars for example - concerns of how they will interact with cars driven by humans are ongoing. How will gloves like this affect the expectations of the drivers and their behaviour when interacting with spotters who do not own such a pair of gloves.

Wear and tear - some colours fade and completely change colour over time. Also how effective would the gloves be if they were dirty, or torn.

Environment - the good thing about traffic lights is that they illuminate but even they can be hard to spot in bright light or sun strike conditions - that is partly why the red or green lights have specific locations on a traffic signal. With gloves that have no illumination and clearly the same location for their red and green signals may have vastly reduced effectiveness in bright (or indeed dark) conditions.

I would love the opportunity to give these gloves a go and do some testing on them but for now (when I should be working) these are a few of my initial thoughts.
  • Andrew