• Catherine
    Hello,
    I am relatively new to H&S in NZ and am now responsible for the H&S processes for roughly 50 people working in various med/high risk situations. I want to overhaul the incident reporting procedure as we suspiciously have no near misses...
    The current set up treats OFI forms as the first stage of incident reporting and an off-the-shelf injury report form alongside it. In my opinion, an OFI is a totally different thing; could be nothing to do with any incident, or the result of an incident investigation but definitely not the first port of call. My senior manager disagrees and likes the current set up. Is this the standard way of operating in NZ?

Could I get some opinions on this? I want to make sure of my facts before I decide whether or not to firmly suggesting a wholesale change.
    (p.s.- change would entail using a small, much simpler 'near miss' report card and an incident report form with optional injury/plant damage sections).
    Many thanks for your time!
  • Tony Walton
    Hi Catherine. Instead of relying on form filling by employees - I've found that talking about near misses within their peer groups to be far more effective. The team meeting notes simply make recommendations for improvement - more proactive than counting near misses!
  • Lee Keighley
    I too have found that forms don't really get the desired result as they seem to sit on peoples desks, not get forwarded. Also we have tried Observation cards, smart cards and they don't seem to work much better. I send out weekly toolbox talks and pick a subject and it gets discussed and then I provide a feedback form back from the toolbox talks. This is working at present, but next month it may not. You just have to keep trying different methods. But it's a no to forms for me (at present).
  • LouiseB
    I'm new to H&S in NZ too. Nice to meet you.