• Jason Borcovsky
    Hi everyone

I'm an old dog learning new tricks. I've been crossing over from HR into H&S for a few years now. I've got an opportunity to look at a fixed term contract in the healthcare space via employment agency and I might look at ditching a lifetime of being employed for the uncharted territory of contracting myself out.

While I ponder the option, I've got a couple of immediate questions:

• Insurance. Any suggestions for insurers? Cost?
    • Any preference for sole trader or company? How strongly do you feel about that?

I'd appreciate any tips, tricks or advice.
  • Steve Schroder
    Happy to have a discussion with you regarding this if you like.
    Insureance depends on what people required.
    we hold several insurances due to the contracts we do, bu public liability at a min.
    i would suggest sole trader to start, and utalise something like henry for your accounts until you get established.
    And always remember, you are only ever as good as your last contract. contracting is as much of building your personal brand as it is being a good contractor.
    it is hard work!
  • Chris Peace
    Hi Jason. Some thoughts from me based on spending most of the last 40 years in one form of consulting or another.
    Insurance is an absolute must. Once, in the UK, a colleague made a cockup resulting in questions about my work. Happily I had evidence I had done the job properly.
    A second instance arose from work for an insurance broker. On the cover of my report I wrote words to the effect that this was not an assessment of risks associated with earthquakes and, if the underwriters wanted such information they should consult a competent engineer. The building was effectively destroyed in the February 2011 earthquake at a cost of $40 million. I told my insurer about a potential problem. It never eventuated but I knew I had my insurer covering my back.