• Andy Walmsley
    Hello, my name is Andy Walmsley and I am a clinical psychology doctoral student at Massey University.

I am doing suicide prevention research within the construction industry. The present project aims to explore some of the barriers that could be preventing men from seeking help for mental health issues within the construction industry. Additionally, the study is interested in men’s preferences for seeking help from different help-seeking sources.

Would you like to help?

Do you have 10-15mins to complete an anonymous online survey?

If you currently work in the New Zealand construction industry, aged between 18-65 years, and can speak and understand English then you are eligible for the study.

For more information and to access the survey, please copy the below link into your internet browser. Alternatively, you can access the survey on Facebook by searching – walmsley2019

https://qasiasingleuser.asia.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_6riL9Kab2HfivOt

All participants go into the draw to win 1 of 50 $40.00 Mitre-10 Store vouchers.

If you have any other contacts within the industry, I would really appreciate you forwarding the survey. My goal is to collect data from 600 men within the construction industry.

If you have any questions please contact:
    Andy Walmsley, Clinical Psychology Doctorate Candidate Massey University Wellington.

021 - 0269- 7566.

This project has been reviewed and approved by the Massey University Human Ethics Committee: Southern B, Application SOB 18/59. If you have any concerns about the conduct of this research, please contact Dr Gerald Harrison, Chair, Massey University Human Ethics Committee: Southern B, telephone 06 356 9099 x 83657, email
  • rebecca telfer
    Hi Andy
    very interested to see your result... i have shared this with a copy of my construction contacts . Good luck
  • Take 5 OHS Consultants