• Peter Bateman
    Thinking back, many of us can pinpoint one or two people who have helped steer us onto a better path in health, safety & wellbeing.

They might have enlightened us with new knowledge, or inspired us to take a different approach, or encouraged us to get into H&S in the first place.

I invite Forum members to think who that person was for you, and to acknowledge them here. Name the person and in one paragraph explain how they have influenced you.

I’ll kick off with a bit of a cheat (because I’m a journalist, not a H&S practitioner).

The late Tony Reid, who died in February, was my journalism teacher at AIT (as it was – now AUT). He taught us the basics of news reporting, feature writing and profiles. He also showed us – from his time at The Listener – how print media could set the agenda. He is acknowledged as the finest feature and profile writer of his or any other generation. It was a privilege to have him as a mentor and friend.
  • Phil Anderson
    The person who influenced me was my Operations Manager Paul Connolly back in 1996. Paul had recently arrived from South Africa and took on the Operations Manager role for an International Plastic company, his focus was always on safety, he explained to me how important Health & Safety was in South Africa and how NZ was lagging in that space. I was just starting out as a Safety Rep and Paul asked me if I was interested in looking after Health & Safety of the Site, I jumped at the chance and Paul then sent me off to numerous Health & Safety Training programmes and the experience changed my whole outlook on life and safety. Sadly Paul passed in 2015 but he will forever be the person I will always thank for his guidance, support and influence. A true leader.
  • Peter Bateman
    Nice tribute, and thanks for being first to have a crack at this!
  • Janet Mary Houston